Affiliated to the Paris-Ile-de-France Region Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CCIR), ESSEC Business School is a non-profit organization under the French Law of 1901. The institution has a governance structure associating members of the ESSEC community (alumni, students, professors, staff), as well as representatives of the CCIR and stakeholders from the business world.


General Management


Vincenzo Vinzi, is Professor of Statistics, and Dean and President of ESSEC Business School. He holds a PhD in computational statistics from Federico II University in Naples and has been Dean of ESSEC since December 2017. His research interests include multivariate analysis, exploratory data analysis, statistical modeling for predictive purposes, causal networks, complex data structures with dependencies, Big Data and business analytics.

Vincenzo Vinzi has been President of the International Society of Statistics for Industry and Business (ISBIS), President of the European Council of the International Association for Statistics and Informatics (IASC), member of the Board of the International Statistical Institute (ISI), and member of the International Federation of Classification Societies (IFCS). He is a visiting professor and lecturer at a number of universities and research centers throughout Europe, the United States and Asia. He is the author of around 80 scientific papers published in international journals, as well as editor-in-chief and co-author of specialized books published by international publishing houses such as Wiley and Springer.

He was the recipient of the Pierre Vernimmen - BNP Paribas "Teaching Awards 2005" (visiting professor category) at HEC Paris. Two of his publications received the "Top Cited Article 2005-2010 Award" in the international journal Computational Statistics and Data Analysis published by Elsevier.

Vincenzo Vinzi sits on the boards of directors of the Conférence des Directeurs d'Ecoles Françaises de Management (CDEFM), Ecole Centrale-Supélec, Alliance Française Ile-de-France (AFPIF), AmCham and the Conférence des Grandes Ecoles (CGE). He is a member of the board of the OECD's Business for Inclusive Growth (B4IG) initiative.

He is also a member of the International Advisory Board of Solvay Business School and of the International Advisory Council of Pompeu Fabra University - Barcelona School of Management.

He is a member of the EQUIS and AACSB evaluation teams and Chairman of the European Advisory Board.
Finally, he is President of the Diversity Commission of the CGE and President of the Sesame competitive entrance examination. 

He is responsible for the management of the institution and is accountable to the Board of Directors for its academic, legal and financial activities.

Vincenzo Vinzi

Dean and President

Professor, information systems, decision sciences and statistics department 


He chairs the Executive Committee composed of: 

Michel Baroni

Dean of Faculty

Professor, Finance Department |  Doctorate in Management Sciences, University of Paris Nanterre

Aarti Ramaswami

Executive Vice-President & Dean of Pre-Experience Programs

Professor, Management Department | PhD organizational behavior and human resources management, Kelley School of Business, Indiana University Bloomington | MA Industrial Psychology, department of applied psychology, University of Mumbai (India) | BA Psychology with honors in sociology, St.B.A. psychology with honors in sociology, St. Xavier’s College, University of Mumbai (India)

Jérôme Barthélemy

Executive Vice-President & Dean for Post Experience

Programs, Corporate Programs and Relations

Professor of Strategy and Management in the Management Department | Master in Management, ESSEC Business School | PhD in Management Sciences, HEC Paris, France

Anne-Claire Pache

Associate Dean, Strategy and Sustainability

Professor and Chairholder, Philanthropy Chair | PhD in Organizational Behavior (2010) - INSEAD | Master in Public Administration (2001) - Major in Non-Profit | Management - Harvard University, John F. Kennedy School of Government

Jean-Luc Renson

Financial Director

Master in Management, ESSEC Business School

Reetika Gupta

Deputy Dean, ESSEC Asia-Pacific campus 

Professor, Marketing Department | PhD in Marketing from Baruch College, City University of New York (CUNY)

Hugues Levecq

Deputy Dean, ESSEC Africa

PhD Information Systems, Stern School of Business, NYU, New York | MBA Stern School of Business, NYU, New York

Nathalie Coëffet

Group Human Capital Director

Natalie Kettner

Director of Communications

Robin Ajdari

Director of Data, Innovation-Experimentation & Digital Transformation

Déborah Pawlik

Chief Governance Officer

Bertrand Sulpice

Real Estate Director



The ESSEC Group is administered by an Executive Board composed of five members appointed for three years:

  • Two representatives of the Paris Ile-de-France Region Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Dr. Annick Schwebig, President of the Board of Directors and Pierre-Jean Baudey
  • A representative of the ESSEC Group Alumni Association, Jean-Luc Decornoy
  • Two leading figures of the business world, Edward Arkwright and Christine Loizy


The Board of Directors reports on its activities to the Board of Overseers and the General Assembly in their respective capacities.

The Board of Overseers is chaired by Pierre-André de Chalendar and is composed of 25 to 29 members: six representatives from the Paris Ile-de-France Region Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CCIR); two members from the Catholic University of Paris (ICP); five alumni; one member from the Confédération des PME (CPME); four students; five professors including the Dean of Faculty; two members of staff and up to four leading figures from the business world.

The General Assembly guarantees the stability of ESSEC Business School's statutes. It is composed of the President of the Paris Ile-de-France Region Chamber of Commerce and Industry; one representative of the ESSEC Alumni Association, one representative of the Confédération des PME (CPME); the Dean of Faculty; and of the rector of the Catholic Institute of Paris acting as Chair.

The International Advisory Board (IAB) includes many professionals with different backgrounds and expertise.
This consultative committee meets every 18 months to discuss the school's strategic orientations, particularly at the international level, and to consider the long term.

Members of the International Advisory Board: 

• Isabelle Bajeux-Besnainou (Canada/ France): Dean - Tepper School of Business at Carnegie Mellon University

• Souad Benbachir (Morocco): Managing Director - CFG Group and T-Capital

• Lisa Brown Alexander (USA): President and CEO - Nonprofit HR

• Fikria Chaouki (Morocco/ France): General Manager - IsWorth

• André Chieng (China): President and CEO - AEC

• Claude Czechowski (France): Founder of CC Consulting; Senior Advisor BCG

• Kathleen Eisenhardt (USA): Professor - Stanford School of Engineering

• Burhan Gafoor (Singapore): Permanent Representative of the Republic of Singapore to the United Nations

• Olivier Girard (France): President - Accenture France & Benelux

• Angel Gurria (Mexico): Former Secretary General of the OECD

• Eric Labaye (France): Chairman of the Board of Directors - Polytechnique 

• Narayana Murthy (India): Founder - Infosys Technologies Ltd.

• Patrizia Paterlini (Italy/ France): Oncologist

• Melinda Richter (USA): Global Director - JLABS, Johnson & Johnson Innovation

• Romain Soubeyran (France): General Manager - CentraleSupélec

• Mathilde Swierczynska (France): Head of Private Wealth Compliance APAC - SMBC Nikko Securities Inc.

• Judith Williams (USA): Head of People Sustainability - SAP

• James Wong (Hong Kong/ USA):  Executive Director - Chinney Group